Information for Visa Applications from South Africa
(087 550 5282 / 082 733 5236)

Western Australia to reopen borders in 2022

Western Australia to reopen borders in 2022

Western Australia is set to reopen its borders at midnight on February 5, 2022, after being shut for nearly two years, WA Premier Mark McGowan announced earlier today (December 13).

The Premier explained that both domestic and international travel could resume by then, with the state expecting to meet its target of having 90% of its population fully vaccinated.

Apart from visitors from countries with current travel restrictions and who may not enter Australia, all travellers must take a PCR test within 72 hours prior to departure and again upon arrival. Fully vaccinated arrivals do not need to quarantine, but unvaccinated arrivals must quarantine for 14 days at a government-approved facility.

In addition, proof of vaccination is mandatory for large events with 1 000 or more patrons, and all interstate and international travellers will need a G2G travel permit and be expected to use the SafeWA app.

From February 5, face masks will also be required on public transport, at airports, on flights, and in hospitals and aged care facilities.

Individual regions of the state that have not yet reached an 80% vaccination rate in time for reopening will be subject to enhanced public health measures. Passengers will not be permitted to travel by air to these regions without proof of full vaccination, and the same requirement will be expanded to more venues where large gatherings occur. Mask-wearing at all indoor venues without proof of vaccination entry requirements will also be enforced.

Michi Messner, Regional Manager Africa for Qantas, has confirmed to Tourism Update that the current travel restrictions on African countries remain in place until further notice.

The nine countries from which travel to and from Australia has been banned (except for returning Australian citizens and their dependants) since November 27 are South Africa, Namibia, Zimbabwe, Botswana, Lesotho, Eswatini, the Seychelles, Malawi, and Mozambique.